Paravur assembly constituency consists of wards from the Paravur Municipality and seven panchayats. The panchayats that come under the constituency are Chendamangalam, Chittattukara, Ezhikkara,Kottuvally, Puthenvelikkara, Varapuzha and Vadakkekkara.

Paravur is the heart of the Paravur Thaluk in Ernakulam District of central Kerala.  This municipality and near by villages are fast developing as satellite townships of the Cochin Metropolitan area. It is just a 17 kilometer drive from Paravur to Ernakulam. Well connected by road, Paravur is adjacent to the Nedumbaserry International Airport. National Highway 17 and National Waterway 3 pass through this area. It is also a tourist destination with heritage sites, excellent beaches and backwaters to its credit. Paravur has agricultural fields, orchards and fishing villages. The main vocation of rural communities is agriculture and fishing. Traditional industries like coir and weaving are actively pursued by people here. Paravur is still a green place with good drinking water and good air. More and more people are moving into these areas to live and set up business.  The effort  is to ensure that there is sustainable growth and a development manifesto is in  place.

All main religions are found here. There is a minority Jewish community also. Language minorities like Tamil, Telugu and Kannada speaking people are also live in Paravur. Many wonderful synagogues, churches, temples and mosques are found here.

Population: 2, 14, 163.