dsc_0503Satheesan was a practicing lawyer at the High Court of Kerala when got elected to the Kerala Legislature from North Paravur, Ernakulam District in 2001. He was involved in student politics from his school days. He was Chairman of the MG University Union representing Kerala Students Union, the youth wing of the Indian National Congress. He became Secretary of NSU. Now a second time representative of North Paravur in the Assembly, Satheesan is an executive member of the Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee, member of the All India Congress Committee and the whip of the Congress Legislature Party. He is an active trade union worker. He is the president of a dozen workers associations spread across the industrial belt of Cochin.

Satheesan is an avid reader, nature enthusiast and an active trekker. He completed his studies at colleges both at Cochin and Thiruvananthapuram.  He lives with his family at North Paravur .  He is the son of late Sri. K.Damaodara Menon and late Smt. V.Vilasini Amma.

Satheesan has done his school education at Nettur and Panangad. He did his dgree level college education at the Sacred Heart College, Thevara, Ernakulam. He took is Post Graduate diploma in Social Service from the Rajagiri College of Social Sciences. He took is LLB from the Law Academy in Thiruvananthapuram and completed LLM from the Government Law College, Thiruvananthapuram. He is an excellent orator and has raised many important issues at the floor of the Kerala Assembly . These issues and topics were discussed and debated ,both inside and out side the legislature. He has won many awards and recognitions. He was recognized by various Malayalee organizations around the world  as Best Parliamentarian.

He spends most of his time at his constituency working on various educational, health and development projects and activities.

Awards won:-

  1. A.A.Rahim Memorial Award for Best Parliamentarian.
  2. Global Malayalee Council,Singapore, award for Best MLA.
  3. Cherian J.kappan Memorial Award for Best MLA.
  4. FOKANA recognition for outstanding performance in the Kerala Legislature.
  5. Best Political Leader  Award from Rajeev Gandhi Foundation , Kollam.
  6. K.S. Narayanan Namboothiri Memorial Award for Best MLA.
  7. A. Pachan Foundation Award for young parliamentarian.


Trade Unions in which Satheesan is an office bearer:-

  1. President, Cochin Refinaries Employees Association
  2. President, Fact Employees Congress
  3. President, Premier Tyers Workers Union
  4. President, IRE Workers Union
  5. President, Technical Employees and Staff Association of TELK
  6. President, TATA Oil Mills Workers Union, Cochin.
  7. President, carborandom Universal Employees Union, Koratty
  8. President, Kerala Books and Publications Society Staff and Workers Union
  9. President, Ernakulam District Cooperative Bank Employees Union
  10. President, Kerala State Cooperative Rubber Marketing Federation Employees Congress
  11. President, Masoneilan Employees Union, INTUC